The Coalition for American Electronics Recycling (CAER) today announced that Sims Recycling Solutions has joined the industry effort to support federal legislation that will restrict export of toxic electronic waste (e-waste) from the U.S. and spur creation of tens of thousands of jobs through expansion of the domestic recycling industry. In the House of Representatives, 13 co-sponsors have announced support for the bill, including six Republicans and seven Democrats.

With the addition of Sims Recycling Solutions, the largest e-recycling company in the world, CAER now includes 34 U.S. companies with 89 facilities involved in all aspects of the domestic electronics recycling and disposition industry, with operations in 32 states as well as the District of Columbia. (Complete membership list below, or visit the CAER website). Also supporting the legislation are Hewlett-Packard, Dell, Apple, Samsung, Best Buy and LG.

“The addition of these industry leaders reflects growing consensus that the Responsible Electronics Recycling Act is good for business and will create much-needed jobs and enhance sustainability,” said John Shegerian, Co-founder and President, Electronic Recyclers International. “Our members are committed to growing an American industry with the capacity to manage e-waste generated within our borders and the potential to create tens of thousands of jobs in every part of the country.”

Introduced in June, the Responsible Electronics Recycling Act (HR 2284/SB1270) would restrict toxic e-waste exports to developing countries that lack adequate safeguards for the environment and workers. There is growing bi-partisan support for the bill as additional co-sponsors have joined the bill in recent weeks. To support Representative Gene Green (D-TX), the lead House sponsor of the bill, 13 co-sponsors now include: Mike Thompson (D-CA), Lee Terry (R-NE), Steve LaTourette (R-OH), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Blake Farenthold (R-TX), Charlie Gonzalez (D-TX), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Dennis Ross (R-FL), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Jeff Denham (R-CA), Jim Costa (D-CA) and Gus Bilirakis (R-FL). In the Senate, similar legislation is co-sponsored by U.S. Sens. Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK).

CAER’s emergence represents a major split in the recycling industry regarding e-waste exports. The industry’s primary trade association, the Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries (ISRI), has long opposed restrictions on e-waste exports. By joining CAER, ISRI members are breaking with the trade association’s position and taking a stand in support of export restrictions on unprocessed electronic products that will create jobs and protect the environment.

Three of the seven companies on the CAER steering committee are also ISRI members, including Sims Recycling Solutions, Electronic Recyclers International, and Hugo Neu.

“Unrestricted and unfair trade in electronic scrap with developing countries has thwarted the job growth that can come with a robust domestic recycling infrastructure,” said CAER steering committee member David Zimet, President of Hesstech. “The Responsible Electronics Recycling Act will enable American recyclers to make new investments in facilities and staff and personnel necessary to legitimize and grow an American industry and position America as a leader in global markets.

The Coalition is continuing to work with both the House Energy and Commerce Committee and the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee, which have jurisdiction over the bills as well as other Congressional offices who would benefit from the job creation from this legislation. For more information about HR 2284/SB1270, visit the CAER website, which includes links to the full text of each bill.

Coalition for American Electronics Recycling — Membership December 20, 2011 2 trg, Ohio, New York, Kentucky 4th Bin, New York All Green Electronics Recycling, California, DC, New York AVR Recycling, California Cascade Asset Management, Wisconsin, Indiana Creative Recycling, Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Kentucky, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Illinois ECS Refining, California, Oregon, Texas eForce Compliance, Pennsylvania Electronic Recyclers International, Washington, California, Colorado, Texas, Massachusetts, Indiana, North Carolina eLoop, Pennsylvania EPC, Missouri, Nevada, South Carolina, Texas eSCO Processing and Recycling, Arkansas Extreme Recycling, Kansas, California Friendly Earth, Washington Global Electronic Recycling, Michigan, North Carolina, Texas Greene Lyon Group, Massachusetts Hesstech, New Jersey Hugo Neu Corporation, New York Metech Recycling, North Carolina, Colorado, Utah, Massachusetts, California, Nebraska Onsite Electronics Recycling, California Outback Equipment, California PlanITROI, New Jersey Redemtech, Ohio, Nevada, Virginia ReDirect e-Waste Solutions, California Sims Recycling Solutions, California, Nevada, Arizona, Texas, Tennessee, Illinois, New Jersey, South Carolina, Florida Spectrum eCycle Solutions, Missouri Surplus Computers, California TechnoCycle, Texas Total Reclaim, Washington, Oregon, Alaska United DataTech, California Universal Recycling Technologies, Wisconsin, New York, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Texas, Oregon, Indiana Valley City Environmental Services, Michigan Vintage Tech Recyclers, Illinois WeRecycle! New York, Connecticut

SOURCE: Coalition for American Electronics Recycling

* Although we have archived this news article on our website, the original article may no longer exist.